2019 - 2020 RESULTS

Open Stick Provincials - LIVE RESULTS

The 2020 Open Stick Provincial Championship was held in Swan River February 7, 8 and 9.  Committee members Jerry Dominato, Brian Cotton, Barry Tall, Jim Webster and Bernice Karton did a fantastic job of hosting this event along with their Ice Technicians, Kitchen and bar staff.  Also to be commended were all the volunteers that worked hard all weekend!  THANK YOU!

Congratulations to the winners, Jim Webster and Barry Tall (Swan River) Presentation made by Ernie Oliver.  Special presentation to the winners of their prize was Jim’s granddaughter.  That’s pretty precious. 

Runners up were – Alf Ramsey and Ron Shafirka (St. Vital)

Consolation winners were Dennis and Peggy Kalynuk (Swan River)

Runners up were – Dennis Bowles and Dwayne Strate (Swan River) 

All curlers were treated to great entertainment before the banquet Friday evening.  The “HIGHLY STRUNG” Ukulele Group played a few songs and then Carroll Cowan entertained us playing the piano and being a former school teacher she knew how to encourage the curlers to sing along.  Thank you to all.  Was fun!

Congratulations to all participants and for those that qualified as well!  The winners will be heading to Regina to participate in the 2020 Canadian event early April.  We will keep everyone posted as to how you can follow along. 

The Kinette Bonspiel held in Marquette – Results

Winners –  Harold Cook and Jim Rouse

Second Event – Alvin MacMillan and his daughter Bev Schick

Third Event – Darren Lust and Greg Didyk

2020 Ladies Provincial Stick Championships!

Manitoba Stick Curling Association held the 2nd Annual Ladies Provincial Stick Championships at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club Thursday January 30, 2020.  We had teams from several clubs in Manitoba namely –  Assiniboine Memorial, Fort Garry, Pembina, St. Vital, Granite, Springfield, Stonewall, Warren and Victoria Beach.  Thank you to all the teams that participated.  At 12:30 we had a luncheon where Harold Cook, President of the MSCA said a few words and turned the mic over to Dave Anton, Secretary of the MSCA who introduced our guest speaker, Carolyn Lindner, a Para Athlete, 2 Time National Champion in 2 different sports, Wheelchair Curling and Archery.  Carolyn spoke on “Resilience”  –  Thank you so much Carolyn we enjoyed hearing your story.  

Congratulations to Gwen Smith(St. Vital) and Lynne Rehbein(East St. Paul) for winning the Championship.  These two ladies will now head to Regina to participate in the Canadian Ladies event April 6 -9, 2020.  Good Luck Ladies!

Runners up were Melanie Shura and Darlene Maywood from Fort Garry.  Congratulations Melanie and Darlene, well done!

Consolation Winners were Shirley Strand (St. Vital) and Britta Spiring (Pembina) 

Runners up in the Consolation were Marilyn Manko and Deanna Moss from Assiniboine Memorial.

Huge thank you goes out the the MSCA Event Co-ordinator, Warren Johnson for his expertise in organizing this event.  Super Job Warren!  Special Thanks to all volunteers that jumped into action such as Joyce Dawydiuk, Betty Piotrowski, Charlotte Anton and Brad Childe.

Stonewall Stick Spiel

A Event Winners –  Ross MacMillan (Marquette) and Jim Rouse (Warren)
Runners up were Darlene Maywood and Melanie Shura from St. Vital
B Event Winners – Don Lewicki and Phil Brauen from Stonewall
Runners up were Lorna and Craig Marr from Springfield
C Event Winners – Rae & Tom Campbell from St. Vital
Runners up were Bev Schick and Alvin MacMillan from Marquette

Hats off to the organizers  – Judy & Bill Kitching and Don Lewicki

2019 Carman Stick Spiel

Carman hosted another successful 2 Person Stick Bonspiel last Saturday –  they ran the spiel on a point system

Tied for top points –  Kim Taylor/Spence Anderson and Bill North/Cheyenne Keith

Thanks to organizers –  Dennis Young, Jack Pethybridge, and Charlie McCullough


Champions – Jim Webster & Barry Tall
Runners up – Barry Stephen & Carl Fothergill
Consolation winners – Wes Stewart & Bruce Brandson
Runners up – Bev Murray & Evelyn Mohr

And of course Brad Childe with Debbie Webster and a piece of banana cream pie. Debbie is the pie maker, concession and bar manager as well. Every one had a good fun time. 


The St. Vital Bonspiel was played over two days, October 3 and 4.  Thank you to the organizer Warren Johnson and his helpers, Les Oliver and Earl Stephenson.  Thank you also to volunteers that pitched in during the two day event.  Gratefully appreciated folks! 

Winners –  Brad Childe and Britta Spiring  (St. Vital and Pembina)
Runners Up –  Barry Tall and Jim Webster (Swan River)

Consolation Runners Up –  Mel Hersak and Virginia Griffiths (Wildewood at the Thistle)
Consolation Winners –  Jerry Magnusson and Don Crerar (St. Vital) 


Ernie Oliver presenting 1st Event Winners –
Earl Stephenson and Les Oliver (St. Vital)
Runners Up –  Ernie Oliver (Assiniboine Memorial) and Ross MacMillan (Marquette)

Event Co-ordinator Warren Johnson presenting 2nd Event Winners
Leroy Clarke and Paul Batchelor (Assiniboine Memorial)
Runners Up – Shirley Strand and Peter Rey (St. Vital)

3rd Event Winners –
John Bazarkowich and Martin Nechwediuk (Assiniboine Memorial)
Runners Up – Brian Bowden and Frank Bagnall (Victoria Beach)

4th Event Winners –
Mildred and Brian Cotton (Swan River)
Runners Up –  Harold Cook (Assiniboine Memorial) and Faye Hodge (Petersfield)